BAM Challenge: June Review – Cryptonomicon

The June theme is Knowledge for Challenge #6. I read Cryptonomicon by Neal Stephenson. The irony of seeing this book on the list of ideas for June was that I had requested it as an interlibrary loan some time ago, and it had finally come in a few days before I saw the BAM Challenge theme for the month.

As for the book itself, the setting shifts back and forth in time, and, from cryptographers cracking enemy codes in World War II to building a data haven closer to present day, knowledge is quite often the turning point in the story. I love the way Stephenson weaves a story through presenting the perspectives of several characters that are unknowingly connected.

I confess I missed the last two challenges, but I do have books ready to read for the April and May challenge. I will catch up – hopefully before July!

Leave a comment